Wide desert-valley main street with mountain ridge behind, Ontario California Business License

Ontario California Business License: $50 Base Plus $0.20 to $0.55 per $1,000, Warehouses $0.02 per Sq Ft

Ontario California Business License: $50 Base Plus $0.20 to $0.55 per $1,000, Warehouses $0.02 per Sq Ft

Ontario requires a business license before a business starts, uses one application for all business types, and prices it with a $50 base plus a rate that depends on the business type. The city license is a local layer on top of the state filings every California business needs. This guide explains how the Ontario license is priced, why warehouses are the only business type priced by square foot, what the city's schedule leaves unanswered, and which state steps come first.

This is informational content, not legal or tax advice. Rates come from the city's Schedule of Business License Tax, and the city can amend its ordinances. Confirm current figures with the City of Ontario and its licensing contractor before you budget or file.

Who Needs an Ontario Business License

The city's business license page states that a license is required before commencing business. A new application is also required when you change location or ownership, so a move across town or a sale of the company triggers a new filing, not just an address update.

Applications go through the city's online portal. The city contracts with HdL (Hinderliter de Llamas and Associates) for processing, collections, and compliance. For questions about your application, contact the city's Business License office at (909) 395-2022 or [email protected].

How the Ontario Rate Works

The Ontario schedule (Ordinance 2526 of 1992) prices most business types in two parts:

  • The base: a $50 starting amount for the per-$1,000 categories and for warehousing.
  • The variable part: an added amount that depends on the business type, $0.20, $0.40, or $0.55 per $1,000 for the categories that use it.

Never quote the per-$1,000 figure without the $50 base. Several other business types pay flat amounts instead, as shown below.

Business typeSchedule amount
Administrative headquarters, manufacturing, retail sales, wholesale sales, non-franchised public utilities$50 plus $0.20 per $1,000
Contractors, services, recreation and entertainment, rental of residential or nonresidential real property$50 plus $0.40 per $1,000
Professions$50 plus $0.55 per $1,000
Warehousing$50 plus $0.02 per square foot
Franchised public utilities$1,000 flat annual tax
Itinerant vendor$50 flat tax
Special events$100 flat per day
Transportation$40 per vehicle

The schedule also notes a $4 state disability access fee on every license application or renewal.

Warehouses: The Only Per-Square-Foot Category

Warehousing is the only business type in the Ontario schedule priced per square foot. Its $50 base plus $0.02 per square foot replaces the per-$1,000 measure, and the warehouse charge is based on building area rather than receipts.

The $0.02 rate is not available to retail, office, service, contractor, or other non-warehouse businesses. If your operation is not warehousing, the per-$1,000 rates for your category apply instead.

The arithmetic is simple. A 100,000 square foot warehouse pays $50 plus $2,000 ($0.02 times 100,000), or $2,050 under the schedule. Confirm with the city or HdL exactly which area measure is used for a mixed-use building before you sign a lease.

For comparison, the neighboring city of Fontana lets warehouses choose $0.075 per square foot, which is 3.75 times Ontario's $0.02 rate. If you are choosing between sites in the two cities, compare both schedules and confirm with each city which one applies to the specific building.

What the Schedule Does Not State

Ordinance 2526 sets the rates but leaves out the details that drive the final bill. Confirm each of these with the city or HdL before you budget:

  • The basis for the per-$1,000 rates. The schedule does not define the amount the rate is applied to, so this guide does not calculate a per-$1,000 example.
  • The renewal date. The schedule does not state one.
  • Late penalties. The schedule does not state the amount or how penalties are assessed.

Home-Based Businesses: License Plus Home Occupation Permit

A business run from a home in Ontario generally needs both the business license and a Home Occupation Permit from the city. The permit does not replace the license, and the license does not replace the permit.

Ontario Planning sets the conditions for home occupations and the permit fee. Check with Ontario Planning for the current conditions and fee before you start operating or sign a lease, because the conditions determine what a home operation is allowed to do.

State Filings to Complete First

California has no general state business license. The Secretary of State issues none, and the CDTFA seller's permit is not a business license. Most Ontario businesses work through these steps in roughly this order:

  1. Register the entity with the Secretary of State. Articles of Organization (Form LLC-1) cost $70, and Articles of Incorporation for a stock corporation cost $100. Online filings through bizFile Online are normally processed within about 5 business days or less, and paper filings take 10 or more business days. Expedite options are 24-hour $350, same-day $750 (received by 9:30 a.m.), and 4-hour $500 (drop-off, precleared).
  2. Reserve a name if needed. A name reservation costs $10 and lasts 60 days.
  3. Register with the CDTFA if you sell taxable goods. The seller's permit is free.
  4. Register with the EDD if you have employees.
  5. Obtain state licenses for your trade. The Contractors State License Board license threshold is $1,000. Licensed professionals should note that an LLC cannot render a licensed professional service, so professional corporations are used instead.
  6. File a fictitious business name statement if you operate under a name other than your legal name. It is filed with the county clerk, must be filed within 40 days of starting, is published in a newspaper once a week for four weeks, and expires after five years. The statutory fee is $10 plus $2 per additional name or owner, counties charge more, and the publication fee is separate.
  7. Calendar the Statement of Information. An LLC files Form LLC-12 within 90 days of forming and every two years after that, at $20 per filing. A corporation files Form SI-550 within 90 days and every year after that, at $25 per filing. A missed LLC filing can bring a $250 penalty after a Secretary of State notice.

Franchise Tax and LLC Fees

Every LLC, LP, and LLP organized or registered in California in 2024 through 2026 owes the $800 minimum annual franchise tax from its first year. An LLC whose first taxable year begins in 2027, 2028, or 2029 pays $400 in year one under RTC 17941(g)(2), so confirm the first-year amount with the Franchise Tax Board.

The LLC fee is $900, $2,500, $6,000, or $11,790 once California-source total income reaches $250,000, $500,000, $1,000,000, or $5,000,000. A newly incorporated or qualified corporation or S corporation owes no $800 minimum in its first taxable year.

Sales Tax and Permits in Ontario

Ontario's sales tax rate is 8.75 percent. The state base rate is 7.25 percent, and district taxes make up the difference. City rates across California run from 7.25 percent to 11.75 percent.

If you sell taxable goods, register for a seller's permit with the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration. The permit is free. A resale certificate has no required form, but you still need to keep records that support each tax-exempt sale.

Official Resources and Contacts

  • City of Ontario Business License: (909) 395-2022, [email protected]. Apply through the city's online portal.
  • Ontario Planning: conditions and fee for the Home Occupation Permit.
  • California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division: https://www.sos.ca.gov/business-programs
  • bizFile Online, the Secretary of State filing portal: https://bizfileonline.sos.ca.gov/
  • California Department of Tax and Fee Administration: https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/
  • Sales and use tax permit information: https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/sales-use-tax.htm
  • Fictitious business names: https://www.sos.ca.gov/business-programs/business-entities/fictitious-business-names
  • California Small Business Development Center network: https://californiasbdc.org/
  • SBA district resources for the Los Angeles district: https://www.sba.gov/district/los-angeles

When to Get Professional Help

A single-owner shop with one location is straightforward. A warehouse lease, a multi-location operation, a choice between an LLC and a corporation, or a licensed profession can involve decisions with real tax and liability consequences. Consult a qualified attorney or CPA before you file for complex situations.

This content is informational, not legal or tax advice. Verify every rate, date, and requirement against the official sources listed above before you rely on it.

Keep exploring: related California guides